West Virginia Car Insurance
Since every state has different insurance requires as mandated by their respective state legislatures, it is always difficult to decide which coverages you need when moving about from state to state. Of course you aren’t limited to carrying just the state’s minimum requirements but if cost is an issue this would be your best option in most cases. Whether you are new to the State of West Virginia or are simply looking for affordable West Virginia auto insurance, begin by looking at what the state requires when getting quotes.
Minimum Requirements in West Virginia
In West Virginia you are only required to carry car insurance with specified minimum liability limits. Those limits include bodily injury (BI) coverage of $20,000 per person up to a maximum of $40,000. Then you are also required to carry property damage (PD) with a limit of $10,000. Even though you might want to give yourself a bit more protection by increasing these amounts, that is all you are required by law to carry. West Virginia does not necessitate you to have No Fault or Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist insurance like some other nearby states require.
The Need for Collision and Comprehensive Coverage
Unless you have an automobile loan or are leasing your vehicle you are not required to carry Collision or Comprehensive coverages. At least, you are not required to carry them by law but the lender or dealership from which you are leasing the car will most assuredly want to protect their investment. As a result, if you do not have clear title to your vehicle you may need both of these coverages. The amount you are required to carry by the lender/dealer will depend on the value of your vehicle.
Optional West Virginia Car Insurance Coverages
Although individual insurance providers will have different coverages available, you could also consider carrying such things as Rental Reimbursement and 24 Hour Roadside Assistance. Also, keep in mind that the liability insurance that you are required to carry by law is 2nd party insurance. This means that it covers the other vehicle. If you are found at fault in an accident and there are any injuries in your vehicle, Bodily Injury will not cover them as they are 1st party losses. Since medical bills could amount to a substantial amount of money it is suggested that you also look at West Virginia car insurance with Medical Payments (Med Pay) coverage. Similarly, breaking down on the road is no fun so emergency Roadside Assistance is a real plus and if you need a rental due to an accident then Rental Reimbursement is a must!
Do I Really Need Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist?
Although carrying Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) coverage will raise your premiums to some extent, this type of coverage protects you in the event that you are in an accident where the other driver is at fault but has no insurance. Yes, you do have some amount of recourse since you can take that person to court to try to get a judgment to recuperate you losses, but that is a long way in the future! What would happen to you if your vehicle was totaled and you didn’t have money to purchase a replacement? Take a few minutes to learn about this coverage as an added means of protecting yourself against significant financial loss brought about by an accident where the other driver was at fault and uninsured.
Before deciding which insurance company to buy West Virginia auto insurance from, get a few quotes from several companies so that you can see which one offers the best coverage for the least amount of money. Also, look at their track record for paying claims and for the quality of their customer service. It only takes a few moments on the internet to get several quotes so that you can get the best deal available.