Utah Car Insurance

In the state of Utah, not only do you need car insurance to protect yourself if you are involved in a car accident, but as a resident of Utah, you are required by the state government to have car insurance. To ensure there is no confusion on this subject, the state has determined the types and minimum amounts of car insurance that residents are required to carry. Utah residents are required to have three types of car insurance. The three types of required car insurance are bodily injury, property damage and personal injury protection. For bodily injury, the minimum amount of coverage required by law is $25,000 per person and up to $65,000 per accident. For property damage, the minimum is $15,000 per accident. And for personal injury protection, the minimum is $3,000.

While having the minimum amounts of coverage required for bodily injury, property damage and personal injury protection will ensure that you are legal to drive in the state of Utah, only having the minimums for these types of insurance is not a guarantee that you will be one hundred percent covered in the event of a serious accident. If you want complete peace of mind about being protected, you will want to choose higher levels of car insurance protection. Increasing your coverage limits can be an especially advantageous choice in the state of Utah. The reason that increasing coverage in Utah is an especially good idea is because Utah has a No-Fault system. This system means that your insurance company will pay your claim up to your covered limit regardless of whether or not you were at fault for an accident.

Because Utah requires you to have car insurance, it's important that you follow their guidelines to avoid any legal problems. Once you are covered by an insurance policy, be sure to keep proof of insurance in your car. Although you may be covered, being unable to present proof of insurance to a law enforcement officer can still create a legal problem for you. Residents of Utah need to understand that their state takes the issue of car insurance very seriously. Because the state maintains a list of registered vehicles and insured vehicles, it compares these lists to identify vehicles that aren't insured. When one is identified, the owner of that vehicle will receive an official letter strongly encouraging them to insure their vehicle. If you choose not to insure your car and are caught driving without insurance, you will be fined at least $400 for your first offense. Driving without insurance can also result in the suspension of your license.

If you currently have a Utah car insurance policy but are interested in saving more money, there are several options you can explore to potentially save money. The first possibility for saving money is to insure your home and car on the same insurance policy. Another option is to find about discounts offered by your insurance company. For example, many insurance companies offer a "Good Student Discount" for high school and college students who maintain a minimum GPA. You may also be able to save money by increasing the deductible amount for your policy. Finally, if it's possible for you to drive fewer miles, you can find out from your insurance company if this can save you money.

If you are a Utah resident who doesn't have car insurance but wants to get a policy, using an online comparison search is the best way to find out what policies are available to you. To conduct a general policy comparison search, you will only need to submit basic information like your car's make, model and year. Once you have narrowed down your potential Utah car insurance policy options, you will need to provide additional personal information to find out exactly how much a policy will cost you.

Comments are closed.