Indiana Car Insurance
No matter which state you live in, one thing is always certain and that is that if you drive a motor vehicle, you will need to have insurance. It’s the law. Indiana car insurance needs to meet minimum standards as set by the Indiana Department of Insurance. However, for added protection you may wish to carry optional coverages by endorsement to your policy or as a separate policy altogether. If price is a factor, there are several ways to seek discounted Indiana car insurance, but first you will need to understand the state mandated minimum coverages.
Indiana Car Insurance Laws
One of the first things you will see when looking at Indiana car insurance is a strange set of figures that reads 25/50/10. To the layperson, that looks like some odd mathematical formula, but it simply states that you are required to carry a minimum of $25,000 personal injury for bodily injury (BI) to a single person, $50,000 total for 2 or more persons and a minimum of $10,000 property damage(PD). This is on a per accident basis. Also, Indiana requires that all newly written policies in the State of Indiana carry Uninsured Motorist and Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury and Property Damage as well, unless rejected in writing. Those minimum requirements are the same dollar amounts as state mandated BI & PD.
Optional Insurance Coverage
Of course, there are a number of optional coverages which you can add by endorsement to your Indiana car insurance policy such as Collision, Comprehensive, Roadside Assistance and Rental Reimbursement. These are all first party coverages that are not required by law but can often protect you against devastating losses whether or not fault is an issue. For example, most people don’t know that their vehicle is not covered against theft unless they carry Comprehensive coverage! Also, should you be found at fault or even partially at fault, your vehicle will not be covered unless you carry Collision insurance. Some automobile owners also choose to carry separate Umbrella insurance policies that cover a certain dollar amount above and beyond what their primary policy covers.
Possible Discounts Available in Indiana
In the State of Indiana, you may be eligible for discounted car insurance if you have completed a defensive driving course successfully. These courses are offered by such authorized organizations as the American Safety Council as well as through the National Safety Council. Some companies provide up to a 10% discount for having completed the course. Also, some insurance companies offer a safe driver discount if you have not been involved in an accident within a given amount of time, generally 2 to 3 years, have not had any moving violations or infractions, and also for policy holders who carry other types of insurance with the same company. For example, if you have both homeowners’ insurance and automobile insurance with the same company, you might qualify for a multiple policy discount.
It is always wise to check quotes from several different companies before choosing which insurance company to buy a policy from. You may find companies that offer discounts if you are over a certain age, most often 50, and if you are not required to carry an SR-22 (Certificate of Financial Responsibility). Quotes will vary from company to company so take the time to compare those quotes so that you can be assured you are getting the absolute best coverage for the lowest premiums if cost is an issue. You might be surprised to learn that sometimes you can get greater coverage at significantly lower cost if you just take the time to do a little searching online.